Sundays: Then and Now

Sundays Then

We sleep in. We roll out of bed around noon, in time for Truck Stop on KNBA 90.3 FM. Sometimes, if the light strikes us right, we wake up early enough to listen to Island Style, the radio program on before Truck Stop. We relax with the paper. I might even deliver coffee to my partner in bed.

As the day saunters by, I clean. I shake out the rugs, swiffer and mop the laminate floors, pick up the odds and ends of clutter, vacuum and do a couple of loads of laundry. I have long phone conversations with friends living Outside and go for a run in the hills whenever I feel like it.

In the afternoon, after Reggae Mix, the 3 to 6 p.m. show on KNBA, my partner might turn on TV and find a Western while cooking some delightful dinner that will produce leftovers for the rest of the week.

We lounge on the couch together. She rubs my feet and we chat about the week to come. We go to bed, perhaps a little too late.

Sundays Now

Our 11-month-old Antonia wakes up anywhere from 5 to 7 a.m. Island Style won’t be on for a couple more hours.

We dodge rice cereal she flings from her spoon and try to remember to pour ourselves some Cheerios as well.

When Antonia takes her morning nap, I’m tempted to sleep too but this is my chance to sneak out of the house for a run.

As the Sunday afternoon skips away, we play. Truck Stop and Reggae Mix provide delightful background. Antonia loves to dance to Bob Marley and Johnny Cash.

I might vacuum while Antonia rides on my back in her carrier if I’m feeling spry, but usually I just crawl ahead of her and pick up scraps from the carpet so she doesn’t put anything too dangerous or disgusting in her mouth.

To do laundry, I first fold and put away the three loads of laundry from earlier in the week.

No one can prepare you adequately for parenthood. Simple things are just beyond your childless grasp. You know you will sleep less. You know your life will change forever, but you just don’t know how much laundry you will constantly be doing. In fact, I should put another load in right now but it feels so luxurious to sit here and type instead.

Before we know it, it is bedtime. We have stories and songs and maybe a bath.

Baby enjoys the newspaper too
Don't you just love reading the paper on Sundays?

The dishes are piled less high. My partner and I take a few minutes after the baby is asleep to pause and have some tea. It’s not that unusual to be in bed by 8:30.

What’s one of the biggest changes you’ve experienced since having children?

One thought on “Sundays: Then and Now

Leave a Reply

