Celebration of Change

Celebration of Change is Saturday

7 p.m. April 21 at the UAA Wendy Williamson Auditorium

Celebration of Change is one of the biggest female (largely lesbian) gatherings in Alaska. Performers of a variety of backgrounds sing, dance, perform spoken word and whatever else they want to. And this year’s lineup looks good. The show is a chance for women of all skills (and sexualities) to get on stage with a supportive audience. It is also a chance for us to celebrate the talent in our community and raise funds for Radical Arts for Women (RAW), a non-profit organization that gives money and grants to female and lesbian artists in Alaska. My partner and I met at Celebration eight years ago so I’m pretty partial to it. I also served on the RAW board for many years (still in fact am the one that cuts the checks).

This year I have the pleasure of announcing the winners of the Nicole Blizzard Short Story Contest. We started the contest several years ago to support female writers in Alaska. All short stories need to have some lesbian content. How the author determines to include the lesbian content is up to them. The first year was primarily about women who had some lesbian tryst in their past or wished they had some lesbian tryst in their past. The next year was a lot of erotica. It is always interesting to see what people will write and submit. It is a small contest as far as contests go but I’m really glad to be a part of it. One year the winner used her money to go to the Kachemak Bay Writer’s Conference in Homer which is great and just why I started the project. I think of it as a grant to lesbian writers in Alaska, though we’ve had straight winners too and that’s just fine by me. I like our allies.

Last year at Celebration, I was the big pregnant woman waddling around. Antonia bounced in my belly while Ever Ready played. I put my friend’s hand on my belly so she could feel Antonia dance. Antonia still loves live music.

This year my father-in-law will be in town and is going to babysit. He’s babysat before but I think this will be his first time putting her to bed and being alone with her at night. My lights tend to be out by 11 p.m. so it will probably be a short trip to the after party. I’m looking forward to it.

Antonia takes a stroll around the party bench with Grandpa Hugh
Grandpa Hugh gets to babysit while mommies go to Celebration!

Are you going to Celebration?  And who are you looking forward to hearing and seeing perform?  

Leave a Reply

